*sigh* again I’m not going to be writing about what I really want to, but instead an interesting event that occurred last night and led me to wonder…

Well for one thing, lets just say, leave it to me to, during our half term break, contract pneumonia 😦 While everyone else has been off skiing, guess who’s had to stay home 😦 For the first few days, it thought it was just a cold and that I would stay home so it didn’t get worse. But when my coughing kept everyone up during the night, my mom took me to the doctor who confirmed that I had walking pneumonia (meaning its pneumonia, but so far not bad enough to keep me bed ridden- and with me, very little is)  and… here I am… Back at home, coughing my lungs out, listening to the gurgling hum of the humidifier and feeling generally like… feces. (oh what a nice word! -.-)

Just to note: Mocha, my pooch is feeling much better, going for car rides and barking at the door bell, though she refuses to go up that flight of stairs now and I’ve been sleeping on the couch to keep her company… and because the stairs aren’t such a fun place to be for someone with a cough and lack of oxygen…

Anyways.  Last night, to ward off another sleepless night for the whole family, my mother came into the family room, to my makeshift bed, and before throwing another two comforters on me, uncovered my feet and surprised me by rubbing vicks onto the soles. She said she’d read it somewhere, that it helps with the cough… but I had never heard of such. To me it seemed foolish… but half an hour later the frequency of my coughing had been much reduced. My chest seemed lighter, and I was able to take the, much welcomed, deeper breaths without succumbing to a mindless coughing heap.

And so I slept, for the first time in a few nights. Propped up on pillows (the coughing is worse lying down), vick’s on my feet and with bout 10000 layers of blankets.

Unfortunately, whether from over heating in the blankets, or from the pneumonia, I was restless, and developed a fever. I also couldn’t get used to sleeping sitting up right and kept on tossing and turning…

I don’t get it. Any health website or medical professional will tell you to get at least 10 hours sleep with pneumonia. BUT ITS IMPOSSIBLE! There’s always something that keeps you from sleeping soundly.

 

Ok. So I got rid of the coughing- somewhat. But still no slakening of the chest pains, sore throat, stuffed nose, congested head and nausea… ugh I feel like I’m complaining too much (and I am) but I really do feel horrid… If you’ve ever had pneumonia, you’ll know. Plus the fact that there’s so much to do, and school starts again on Monday, and I can’t miss any what with the exams at the end of this year coming up soon… PLUS we have a dance spectacular to put on in a few weeks and I’m not missing that! (or any of the practices for that matter!)

Anyone else know any tricks to ameliorate those?

 

Oh well I really should get to work…

 

Next time, it will be either book reviews or more doggy stories.  Cheerios!

