Well I promised the Lemon Bar Recipe, and here it is. I’ll write a proper post later…

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees celcius)

You need and 8 inch square cake pan, greased

INGREDIENTS:

CRUST

1 cup         of all- purpose flour

1/4 cup    granulated sugar

1/2 cup   cold butter, cubed

Topping

3                 eggs

1 cup        granulated sugar

3 tbsp       all- purpose flour

2 tsp          granulated lemon zest

1/2 cup    freshly squeezed lemon juice.

Directions:

-Crust: in a bowl, combine flour and sugar using a pastry blender, 2 knives or your fingers  cut in butter until mixtrure resembles coarse crumbs. Press evenly into prepared pan. Bake in preheated oven until lightly browned around edges.

-Topping: in a bowl, whisk eggs, sugar, flour, lemon zest and juice just until smooth. Don’t over beat. Pour over crust.

-return to oven and bake just until set, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool completely in pan on rack. Cut into squares.

This recipe makes around 36 squares. It requires about 20 minutes of preparation time and 45 minutes of baking in total. ONe of the great things about this recipe is that you can bake it, pack it in an air tight zip lock bag, and pop it in the freezer. Do that a couple days before you have company over, heck even a week before, or better yet, just keep one set in the freezer. That way when someone pops by unexpectedly, or you suddenly get a crazing, its right there and all you have to do is defrost for a few minutes… Perfect for those warm, hummid summer days when all you want is something cool and refreshing. My suggestion for days like these- take them out of the freezer and put them in the fridge before you go out (be it for a killer work out in the heat, or just for a day of walking and shopping…) this way they wont be totally defrosted and then you can have a nice, refreshing, cool snack waiting for you when you get home… Though I wouldn’t suggest a glass of lemonade or else you might over do the flavour and have lemon overkill…

ANother great twist on these for a summer party would be to make CITRUS fruit bars… make one of lemon, one of orange, and even lime… you wont even need the punch! And if you are really daring, or really like your fruits sour, you can even try (do I dare say) grapefruit bars… I had grapefruit once, and it was fine, I was just eating the inside… and then I tasted some of the skin (not the peel, just the clear skin, you know???)… That was the sourest thing I had EVER tasted… I’ll be extra careful next time I eat grapefruit- and I like lime- this has gotta tell you something about how bad I was puckering…

Hmmm… I was thinking of finishing off this post with a nice appetizing picture of an orange that had fallen in a ditch and was partially covered by mud. I took it this weekend on one of my walks through town… But I thought better not scare off anyone stray readers I do get…

OH and that reminds me! I got my first view yesterday evening. there is this little chart that I can see that you guys can’t (unfortunately) that shows me the number of views per day…Rather exciting if I might say… On the other hand… it WAS from a friend- so I’m not sure if it counts… And despite it all I STILL feel like I’m talking to a wall…

Ok, I just have to put this down… My sister just came walking in the room, and guess what she was eating… yes you guessed right! ^ lemon bar!

more later my dear invisible audience… Like I said before, my day has been filled with music I haven’t heard in ages… but that are still good songs, or at least funny. I’ll write about them, and feel free to give any suggestions for bands I might like or songs you like.

Cheerio!

